Oxford County owns 11 wastewater systems, including nine wastewater treatment plants (WWTPs), within the County serving more than 76,000 residents and various industries and commercial institutions. The County operates nine of these wastewater systems and all nine WWTPs.

Oxford County’s wastewater treatment plants are located in major population centres:

  • City of Woodstock
  • Towns of Tillsonburg and Ingersoll
  • Five area municipalities: Townships of Zorra, East Zorra-Tavistock, Blandford-Blenheim, South-West Oxford, and Norwich
Two additional wastewater systems serve the communities of Embro and Innerkip. These systems collect wastewater and transfer it to the Woodstock WWTP. The Biosolids Centralized Storage Facility (BCSF), located in Salford, is used for the storage of dewatered biosolids from various Oxford County wastewater treatment plants in winter and periods when the material cannot be land applied. Watch this video Biosolids: Naturally Sustainable created by the Water Environment Association of Ontario (WEAO) for more information.


2024 Water and Wastewater Master Plan2024 Water and Wastewater Master Plan

The 2024 Water and Wastewater Master Plan sets out Oxford County's long-term water and wastewater approach to managing current servicing needs as well as accommodating future projected population and employment growth to the year of 2046.

Download: 2024 Water and Wastewater Master Plan

The Water and Wastewater Master Plan was carried out over 2022 and 2023 as a Class EA Study in accordance with the master planning and design process of the Municipal Class Environmental Assessment (MCEA, 2023), approved under the Ontario Environmental Assessment Act. The Master Plan followed Approach 1 of the MCEA process.